Satyananda Yoga

What is Satyananda Yoga?

The Bihar Yoga System is known as the Satyananda Yoga Tradition. Its approach is integral in its teachings. The practical foundations of this tradition are provided by the Tantras through yoga. It is a precise, slow, steady and systematic form of yoga offering classes at beginners moving into progressive beginners, intermediate and advanced levels.

In the Satyananda/Bihar System of Yoga, the physical, psychological and spiritual dimensions are taken from an everyday normal existence tapping into unravelling blocked energy that deprives you of feeling alive and energized to a highly tuned and balanced state. In order to do that, one has to follow the precise procedures which have been designed from beginning to end for personal growth and evolution. The body, mind and emotions will undergo different kinds of changes which are not static by nature.

What makes the Bihar/Satyananda Yoga system unique is that Swami Satyananda Saraswati, devised the Pawanmuktasana series, Part I, II & III, excellent for stiffness before performing major yoga asanas. The series helps in relaxing, co-ordinating and synthesizing the brain, mind and digestive process. He also devised Yoga Nidra (a state of inner awareness combined with complete relaxation – the body may sleep but the mind is totally aware and awake). All this follows after performing the Shatkarmas (the six purifications of the body – see Purification for more information).

One gains a deep and thorough experiential understanding of Satyananda Yoga through the Satyananda System along with an in-depth knowledge of yoga in relation to one’s lifestyle, thoughts and environment.

Satyananda Yoga draws inspiration from Adi Shankaracharya, the codifier of the Dashnami Sannyasa Tradition, the three spiritual masters which make up the current Satyananda Yoga lineage: Sri Swami Sivananda Saraswati, Sri Swami Satyananda Saraswati and Swami Niranjanananda Saraswati, and the present propagators: Swami Satyasangananda Saraswati and Swami Suryaprakash Saraswati.

Sri Swami Sivananda Saraswati

Find out more


Sri Swami Satyananda Saraswati

Find out more

To read the daily inspirational Satsangs from Sri Swami Satyananda click here

Swami Niranjananda Saraswati

Swami Satyasangananda Saraswati

Find out more

Swami Suryaprakash Saraswati